Community Speaks #3- Konstantina Papadea speaks

We’re really happy to see the Community Speaks initiative picking up really soon. Breaking the stereotypes have indeed succeeded in getting the attention of many community members as well as new contributors.

If you’ve missed out on the last issue of community speaks, here is the link.

Today, we have Konstantina Papadea with us to share her thoughts.
Konstantina Papadea is the Mozilla Reps Co-ordinator. Her responsibilities include developing and managing the reps global volunteer reimbursement framework for events, enforce budget standard operating procedures (SOPs) and oversee the overall program finances, including auditing and forecasting.
In addition she supports the Mozilla Reps Council with day-to-day operations, including gear requests, budget requests, and liasing with Mozilla’s accounting department.

 


 

Hello Konstantina, we’re sure that many, on reading your profile, would be interested in knowing more about your link with Geology. Could you tell us more about this?

Konstantina: Geology is one of my passions in this life, for me it is exciting to know how everything around has been formed long before people existed. What is more fascinating is that Earth is somehow a living creature which means we can see geology on the making at this moment. Being a geologist enables you to understand how small we are compared with the glory of Earth.
I’ve recently received my bachelor in Geology and one day I would like to continue my studies on the field especially in mining, since I have a soft spot for ore deposits.

How would you describe your journey from being a Geology student to a Mozillian?

K: Well it has been a fun ride. Geology is all about the earth and we don’t use hight tech technology unless it is needed. Since I consider myself a geek. I’ve always wanted to put the technological side into my studies and Mozilla gave me an excuse to spend more time with my computer 🙂 I have to say I needed to find a balance between spending time in the field and in front my computer, but I managed to have a schedule and have time for my both passions.

Were there any difficulties when you first started contributing? If yes, how did you overcome those?

K: In the beginning it took me some time to understand how the community works and all the different cultural backgrounds. But after I came to know the people and how passionate they are about Mozilla, everything made sense and I fell in love with our mission

Do you find time to keep up with your passion towards Geology while contributing to Mozilla?

K: Yes, I am a passionate caver and I try to go caving with my friends almost every weekend. I also try to attend geological lectures in my old university when I have the time or even spend sometime in the field.

What is the status of the projects you are working on and what more could we expect from Mozilla under your project in the near future?

K: Right now I’m fully dedicated to the Reps program, working on policies and features related with the program finances and gear procedures. Since our main goal right now is to reach the 1 million mozillians, I’m working on automating and making the reimbursements and gear procedures easier for our reps so they can dedicate their time to the million Mozillians goal. I hope that what I’m working will be able to help them.

Being with a community like Mozilla would certainly have its perks. Could you List out 5 things that you like at Mozilla?

I have to say there are a lot of them. My top 5 are:

the community, it is amazing to see people from different backgrounds come together for one cause

travelling, I love to travel and meet the people of Mozilla, get to know them and understand them

my colleagues, without whom I wouldn’t be able to achieve anything

the mozilla reps. I know I’ve mentioned the community before but those 500 hard core dedicated Mozillians are just amazing, every single one of them

the friendship. I consider myself lucky that I work with people that I can call my friends, both employees and volunteers.

We’re sure that you would serve as one of the best examples of contributors who don’t contribute to code. How important do you think is the role of such contributors to Mozilla?

K: I think it is very important. To be honest, before I started contributing I believed too that the only way to contribute was via coding, but Mozilla proved me wrong. We are a global community with the same passion, the open web, and in order to make it work we need all the help we can get. Mozilla is all about the diversity and equality and this is what makes us unique

Do you think it is important to show that Mozilla is not all about coding? What would be your advice to such Mozillians?

K: Mozilla *not* being all about coding is one of the aspects that makes us unique.I would tell them that being part of Mozilla is being part of a global community. Their work and contribution is as important to us as writing codes. It doesn’t matter if you write code, translating articles or teaching webmaking, what it matters is making an impact. So my advice is keep rocking and let the people know what Mozilla is and how we can change the web.

Thanks a lot Konstantina for taking time to answer our questions. We’re really happy to have you with us

K: Thanks a lot too for inviting me, I truly love this initiative 🙂

 


Thanks Konstantina, we really appreciate your thoughts.

If you have any suggestions for Community Speaks, please let us know by tweeting @dun3buggi3 or dropping a mail at dun3buggi3@gmail.com

One thought on “Community Speaks #3- Konstantina Papadea speaks

Leave a Reply

